Brownies!!! (with Hazelnut Buttercream)

Before I begin, I want to say a big HELLO to all my readers and followers, and thank everyone for being with for so long. I’m finally at a 100 followers, and that is a HUGE DEAL for me! Especially since lately I have been less-than able to dedicate blog-time. Nevertheless, I’m back, and this time with a special treat for a special person 🙂 aka, my DAD, also known as ‘the-person-who-annoys-me-the-most’ 😀 Isn’t that what all Daddies do? 😉

Mine does, and he’s the one I get into the most fights with too, mostly because he’s extra over-possessive about me *insert eye roll* But still, he IS my Dad, and I DO LOVE him to bits!!! ❤ so I made him a treat (for Father’s day), and since he’s extremely addicted to sweet things, that’s what he got, a sweet treat, BROWNIES!!!! Fudgy, gooey, oh-so-rich and god, I can go on and onnnnnn….

Brownie 2

Before I go any further, I must tell you that Monsoon is upon us, and has cast its gloomy, dreary shadows upon the world of daylight. Now I don’t have any fancy equipment, studio, or artificial lights, so I have to depend on daylight for my pics. And with the temperamental weather, my pics haven’t come out as I’d hoped… sniff sniff…

Brownie 10

Now, I’m not a very occasional baker; mostly I do not get time, and also, there aren’t many people to eat my creations but the three of us at home, and I do NOT want to turn into any more of a walrus than what I already am :/ So I bake rarely, and when I do, I MUST turn them into worthwhile treats! Funnily enough, I have never baked a brownie before (unless you count the one time I baked at a friend’s house some 7 years back, and then when I made a brownie base for a cake). And yet, I ABSOLUTELY LOVE BROWNIES!! Fudgy brownies, rich and dense, chocolaty and irresistible, and this is one of those times when I’ve really lived up to my expectations 😀

Brownie 4

As this was to be a surprise treat for Dad, I wanted to give the brownie a face-lift 🙂 Now I’m a “Daddy’s Girl”, make no mistake, and even with the amount of times I’ve wanted to crawl up the wall, he’s the only ‘man’ in my life I care about 😉 So I dressed up the Brownie with some Hazelnut Buttercream, added a dollop of homemade Hazelnut-Chocolate Spread, and finished off with some toasted Hazelnut bits.

Brownie 5

I’ve never had the combination of Brownie-with-Hazelnut, but I’ve had them with a Nutella spread, so I had a feeling the Hazelnut Buttercream would do justice. 🙂 I must confess here that I finished about 30% of the Brownie before anyone had a chance to dig in 😦 and thus, I have now guilt-tripped myself into abstaining from sweets for a week.. *sniffle*..

Brownie 8
The homemade Hazelnut-Chocolate spread that I tried to Quenelle 😛

I’m sure all my baker friends know how there are 3 types of Brownies; Cakey, Fudgy and Chewy, and my personal favourite is the Fudgy ones, though I wouldn’t mind a Chewy brownie once-in-a-while. But if you fed me a cakey brownie, I swear, there’d be hell to pay! 😛 I’ve also read that good quality chocolate gives a Brownie its richness (apart from butter and eggs), which is why I’ve used Callebaut 54% dark chocolate as my base, along with some Milk compound 🙂 They’ve certainly lent the Brownie a wonderful richness, and it only gets better the next day (if you can wait that long 😉 )

18620599_10156176655856040_2187437794128217583_o

Brownie 1

The Hazelnut Buttercream is pretty straightforward, almost like Peanut Butter in a way, and pipes great! I was torn between a Hazelnut Whipped Cream and this, but decided to go with the richer one, since I’m going to hell anyway 😉 As for the Hazelnut-Chocolate spread, you can just go ahead and skip it, or make-do with Nutella if you have it on hand. I didn’t, made my own, and have now sworn off store-bought spreads completely…as much as I can. It’s time-consuming, but way healthier 🙂

Brownie 6Brownie 7

Fudgy Chocolate Brownies with Hazelnut Buttercream (& Hazelnut-Chocolate Spread)

Note: These brownies are dense and fudgy with a tiny bit of chewiness, and though I lack a ‘crackly top’, they taste delicious. I suggest you bake as given in the recipe and not experiment, to attain the perfect brownie 🙂 

Ingredients: (Makes one 9×9 inch Brownie)

  • Unsalted Butter – 1/4 cup or 57 gm (if using salted butter, skip the salt)
  • Flavourless vegetable oil – 1/4 cup 
  • Brown sugar – 1/2 cup (100 gm)
  • Granulated white sugar – 1/2 cup (100 gm)
  • Semi-sweet Chocolate chips or any good-quality chocolate broken into pieces – 227 gm/8 oz (I used 125 gm of Callebaut dark callets and about 100 gm Milk chocolate)
  • Eggs – 3, lightly whisked
  • All-purpose Flour – 2/3 cup (85 to 90 gm)
  • Salt – 1/4 tsp (skip if using salted butter)

Method:

  1. Grease and line a 9×9 inch square baking tray with parchment paper, leaving at least a 1 inch edge, hanging over the sides of the pan.
  2. Preheat oven to 175 C/350 F.
  3. In a heatproof bowl, combine the oil, butter and the chocolates. Melt the mixture in a microwave, in bursts of 20 seconds, or over a baine-marie/double-boiler. 
  4. Mix well, and when the mix is completely melted and smooth, add the sugars. 
  5. Once the sugars have mixed and combined well, let the mixture cool to room temperature, and add the lightly whisked eggs, bit by bit, and whisk until fully combined.
  6. Lastly, add the flour and fold it in gently. Ensure there are no lumps, but don’t overmix. 
  7. Pour the batter into the prepared pan, tap to let air bubbles escape, and bake for 25 to 30 mins; a toothpick/skewer inserted into the center should come out with a few moist crumbs. If the toothpick comes out clean, the brownie has overbaked, and if it’s still gooey, let it bake for 3 to 4 more mins.

For the Hazelnut Buttercream:

Ingredients:

  • Hazelnuts ((toasted and skin rubbed off (or buy skinned hazelnuts)) – 1/2 cup or about 50 gm
  • Butter – 2 tbsp, softened
  • Icing or powdered sugar – 2 tbsp
  • Fresh cream or double cream – 4 tbsp

Method:

  1. Toast the hazelnuts and once cooled, rub off the skin.
  2. In a food processor, add the hazelnuts, softened butter, sugar and cream.
  3. Whiz until the mixture resembles smooth peanut butter.
  4. Refrigerate until use.
  5. For the Chocolate-Hazelnut spread, mix some dark chocolate ganache with the Hazelnut cream (2:1 ratio). 
  6. Refrigerate until use.

Assembly: Once the brownies have cooled enough to slice (refrigerating for a few hours helps), slice a piece shaped like a bar. Pipe on the Hazelnut Buttercream on top, sprinkle some toasted and crush hazelnuts, and finally, quenelle a bit of the Chocolate-Hazelnut spread on the plate. Garnish with chocolate curls, etc.

SERVE COLD unless you’re planning to serve it with ice cream. In that case, gently warm the brownie in a microwave and serve with a scoop of ice cream and chocolate/caramel/salted caramel sauce!!

Brownie 3

 

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Megala says:

    Wow! Awesome brownies! Just cant wait to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Megala, do try it and let me know how it turned out 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Ellanor!

      Like

  2. That hazlenut buttercream looks amazing! you have certainly done a wonderful job with these brownies. (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you soooo much Nicolas! I’m constantly motivated by your lovely posts… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the buttercream decorations! If you’re also a hazelnut fan, please feel free to check out my blog (http://koalifiedbaking.wordpress.com), as I just uploaded a hazelnut chiffon cake recipe 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, you have a very beautiful blog, and lots of fun recipes I’d love to try some time 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. This blog is sth I started recently and I’m eager to share more and more recipes with you all! Stay tuned 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Of course, and I hope you do the same!

        Like

Leave a Reply

