Happy Poush/Makar Sankranti

Happy Poush Sankranti everyone! The season of new harvest is almost upon us; in fact many parts of India are already celebrating with goodies prepared with the freshly harvested products.
My memories of Poush Sankranti are vague at best. Having grown up as a ‘Bambaiyya’ gal, I have been fortunate enough to experience the different flavours of the season, though what remains most imprinted upon my senses is the fragrance of molten patali gur or date-palm jaggery. And because we wouldn’t get the much-sought after preciousness in Mumbai, Didu would carry it with her during her visits, or we’d bring back a large stock on our way back from Kolkata…
makar-sankranti-6
The sizzle of ‘Patishapta’ frying, the slow bubble of milk for ‘Doodh Puli’, or the thick gloop gloop of jhola gur…remain embedded in every sense, even as I miss my Didu’s and Dad’s camaraderie during their annual Pithe-making season, as Mom would drag me away from all the enticing sights and sounds, towards my exam books! *sigh*
 
Gone though, are the days of languid relishing of ‘Shoru Chakli’ with jhola gur, the stealthy sneaking of ‘Patishapta’ from Mom’s hot-case, or slurrrrping the ‘Doodh’ from the large bowl of ‘Doodh Puli’…unbridled, unabashed, unparalleled! Now the memories remain, and as time moves on, I decide to try my hand at my own versions of ‘Pithe’.
makar-sankranti-5
These were made in a span of 6 hours yesterday, ending with a flourish after 3 past midnight..and as I crept into bed, broken and beat at 3.30 am, the only thing I could think of was…would these be good enough? 🙂 I guess you’ll have to be the judge!
 
HAPPY POUSH SANKRANTI everyone ❤
On offer —
NOLEN GUR er PHIRNI
makar-sankranti-2
TIL-GUR er PITHE
makar-sankranti-3
GOLAP PITHE
makar-sankranti-4
 
P.S – I was hoping for better pictures, but due to extreme shortage of time, ’tis is all I could manage! 😦
Anywhoooooo, I hope the new year brings forth wealth, prosperity and lots of good things to every one… 🙂
Leave a Reply

