Trifle Shots (1st Blogiversary & Thanksgiving)

The first of many, the journey that began a year ago comes full circle this month, the month of celebrations, the month of Thanksgiving…and thus, today, as I celebrate my one year completion of blogging, I want to thank everyone who has been my motivation and support, throughout this journey.

So yayyyyy me!!!! For being able to pull through this year, for pushing myself beyond what I used to think was my ‘limit’…turns out, there’s no limit to passion. If you follow your heart, remain determined and focused, nothing, and I mean NOTHING can stop you. I’ve learnt so much this past year, both in terms of cooking and plating as well as in terms of photography. And as much as I’d loooove to thank each person individually, I shall keep it short 🙂
To my parents who always push me to do my best, my family who support me endlessly, to Aroop mama for gifting me his Nikon, to friends and well-wishers….THANK YOU! And lastly, to all of YOU, my readers, followers and friends, THANK YOU for all the love and support you have showered upon me. Keep loving me just the same and I promise, I shan’t disappoint ya’ll 😉 

ffbad2-png

And on that note, here’s a very delicious Thanksgiving treat for you all…

english-trifle-2

Trifles are such a hearty dessert, I can see why the English would have this on almost every special occasion. And I’m quite glad they gave us the ropes to creating this totally scrumptious dessert! Now this isn’t like the authentic trifle; there’s no alcohol or fruit wine, nor any jelly…but they taste soooo good either way, that I decided….”what’s in a name anyway?” 😉

english-trifle-4

There are so many easy recipes for Trifle, all you need is imagination and inspiration. Also, this is such a wonderful Thanksgiving treat, especially when you’re under duress after lots of cooking, and need a simple, albeit filling dessert. And if you want to save even more time, just arrange the layers in a trifle bowl, and serve your guests after their meal!

english-trifle-3

I made these as a Thanksgiving treat for my family…and thought individual portions would be super cute! Also….that way, no one fights for an extra spoonful 😉 This classic Trifle is a super-quick one; it took me 15 minutes and some leftovers to create this magic, haha! I mean, had I not had a bowl of whipped cream, cake, custard and strawberry crush, would I have thought about making it? Probably not… 😛

english-trifle-1

Trifle Shots 

Ingredients:

  • Pound cake/vanilla sponge – 6 slices
  • Strawberry-flavoured custard – 6 tbsp 
  • Strawberry crush – 8 to 10 tbsp approx
  • Double cream/Whipping cream – 1/2 cup
  • Icing sugar – 1 tbsp
  • Sugar beads/pearls for garnish

Method:

  1. Whip the chilled cream in a cold bowl until it reaches soft peaks. 
  2. Add the icing sugar and whip again until you achieve firm peaks.
  3. Fill a piping bag fitted with your choice of nozzle, and refrigerate until use.
  4. Crumble the cake slices and in each glass, pack the bottom with a tbsp each of crumbled cake.
  5. Pipe in a bit of whipped cream and tap the glass gently to let it settle atop the cake.
  6. Gently spoon in (or use a piping bag) a tbp of strawberry or vanilla custard.
  7. Now top the custard with strawberry crush.
  8. Repeat the layer, first with crumbled cake, cream, custard and strawberry crush. 
  9. Finally, top the trifle with a thick layer of whipped cream, and drizzle some strawberry crush on top.
  10. Sprinkle sugar beads, and refrigerate until serving time.
  11. Serve chilled!

Note:

  • I have used leftover pound cake, leftover whipped cream (from my parents’ anniversary cake), and have used Mapro strawberry crush and strawberry custard…which is kind of hidden under the crush.
  • This is a quick and easy dessert for those sudden parties or after-meal sweet cravings, especially this part/festive season.
  • You can add jelly, fresh fruits, port wine, sherry, madeira, or other fragrant alcoholic beverages for a more potent version.

english-trifle-5

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Sumith Babu says:

    Congratulations Trisha😊. And happy thanks giving. Great recipe with amazing photographs. Thanks for this great share.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so so much sir.. your support and blessings mean a lot to me. Please do keep me in your thoughts and help me grow… Much love and regards! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sumith Babu says:

        Hi Trisha, keep going. This is an amazing endless journey. More you do more you enjoy. In this boat we all enjoying every bit of that. Keep rowing😊Regards.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. 🙂 Thank you… yes, yes, I too am immensely enjoying it!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

