The Burmese Fiesta (My First Pop-Up)

6th of Nov, 2016 will always be a very important date for me; no, I didn’t get marrrried….but I DID have my first, very own Pop-Up this Sunday. The prospect of a Pop-Up had been brewing over the horizon for a while, and then, things finally fell into place. A pop-up essentially is something that ‘pop ups’ for a short while. Like pop-up ads that boop onto your screen, a pop-up restaurant is a temporary restaurant that can be hosted from private homes, clubs, roof-tops, cafes and even restaurants. Pop-ups can last anywhere between half a day, to a month, depending on your preference; though modern day pop-ups usually function for a day at best. And most importantly, a pop-up restaurant usually has a pre-chosen menu, a theme menu…and mine, was Burmese.

Now most of you food connoisseurs will know what a pop-up is, or how it works, so I shan’t go into the details. I’m attaching some pics here of my menu, and a few pics of the event itself.

3a
BALACHAUNG (Burmese dried shrimp relish)
4
Green Mango Salad
5a
Crispy Tofu stuffed with rocket salad, smeared with a special dressing
6
Shan-style Burmese Chicken Cutlets
8
Burmese mixed Veg Curry
7
Burmese Tomato Fish
9
Burmese Chicken Curry
10
Banana Fritters with Ice Cream & Chocolate Sauce

I am super-duper thrilled because in my very short time-span as a home culinaire, and blogger, I’ve managed to pull off a humongous task as this. And the fact that it was well-received, and people enjoyed themselves makes me even happier.

After all, what can any cook want more than the fact that their food is liked by all? πŸ™‚

For more pics of the event, you can check my Facebook page here:Β https://www.facebook.com/trisha.rudra/posts/10155438400366040?pnref=story

πŸ™‚ Toodles! ❀

6 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s amazing! Kudos to you for your effort πŸ™‚ I wish I could taste everything, never had Burmese food. It look’s so delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Freda.. If you ever get the chance to visit Calcutta, please be my guest so I can treat you to some πŸ˜€ ❀

      Like

  2. Thehungryballer says:

    Incredible ! Congratulations ! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks man!!! πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Sumith Babu says:

    Wow that amazing! Great effort. The spread looks like a treat in a palace!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!!! I’m totally overwhelmed too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

