Cheese Tuiles (with an Indian twist)

My friend Pratichi had recently made these beautiful cheese-base tacos, and stuffed them with some scrambled eggs…(You can see her recipe here)..So tempting were those, that I just had to make my own. Me and Dad love cheese, and even mom who isn’t such a huge fan of cheese loved these, so I am very happy that my experiment turned out successful….because these were just that, an experiment, fusion experiment 😀

Desi Cheese Taco 1

I was dying to make these for the longest time..Unfortunately, with the rains and Dad being out of town, I have been unable to get all ingredients needed. And yet, my impatience has been at its peak…

Unable to resist, I decided to throw caution into the winds and yesterday, while Mom was busy cleaning house, I decided to surprise her with these for lunch. The lack of ingredients never has stopped me before, and I wasn’t about to let it stop me now. I usually have cheese in stock, cheddar mostly, and processed, so that’s what I used, and for the filling, I’ve gone desi-videshi fusion… no confoosion 😉 I literally had nothing, NOTHING for garnish, so I’ve done a minimal job…and yet, it has turned out to be absolutely delicious!!!!

Desi Cheese Taco 3

I have used some leftover Rajma for the filling, and made a fresh Garlic-Chili cream sauce to compliment the rajma. Then I added some sliced onions, and sprinkled some Maharashtrian ‘Kanda-Lasun’ masala or Onion-garlic dry masala on top. I was surprised at how well the components complimented each other.

Desi Cheese Taco 6

It’s best to use a high fat cheese or this, like Mozzarella or Gruyere, Cheddar too works well. As you can see, my tuile is quite dark and well-browned because we like it that way. You can cook it for a shorter amount of time if you prefer a lighter base.

Desi Cheese Taco 5

Cheese Tuiles (with Rajma masala & Garlic-chili Cream sauce)

For the tuiles:

  1. Cheddar cheese – 1 cup, grated
  2. Processed cheese – 1/2 cup, grated
  3. (Makes 4)

Method:

  1. Heat a non-stick pan, and keep it on the lowest flame.
  2. Grease it with a bit of oil or butter.
  3. Carefully place the grated cheese in a neat circle in the center.
  4. The cheese will start cooking, bubbling and turning brown.
  5. Give it time to firm up, and switch off the heat after 3 mins, allowing it to cook on residual heat.
  6. Carefully lift it up with the help of a spatula, and immediately place it upside down on a rolling pin.
  7. Let the tuile cool into the shape of a rough taco.

For the sauce:

  1. Garlic – 12 to 14 cloves
  2. Green chilies – 2
  3. APF – 1 tbsp
  4. Butter – 1 tbsp
  5. Milk – 1 cup
  6. Fresh cream – 2 tbsp
  7. Salt to taste

Method:

  1. Using a mortar pestle, grind the garlic and chilies into a coarse paste.
  2. Heat a pan and add the butter.
  3. Add the paste and fry it until the raw smell goes away and garlic is sauteed well.
  4. Add the flour and fry it gently.
  5. Add the cream and salt.
  6. Stir and combine.
  7. Add the milk, whisk quickly, and turn off heat, keeping sauce smooth and flowy.

For the filling:

  1. Leftover rajma masala – 1 cup, about 4 tbsp for each tuile
  2. Onions – sliced lengthwise
  3. Garlic-chili masala or red chili flakes

Assembly:

  1. Place each Cheese tuile on a serving plate, arranging it like I have, or like a taco.
  2. Now lay a spoonful of rajma in the middle (you may bhuno the rajma to dry up the gravy, like I did)
  3. Spoon in a bit of the cream sauce, and repeat layers once more.
  4. Finally, top with onions, and some chili flakes, or chili masala.
  5. Repeat for each tuile, and serve hot.
  • Note:
  1. I was obviously doing a jugadu business here, and have used minimal toppings because I had nothing at home.
  2. You can use some sausages or seekh kebabs for the filling, along with some lettuce, tomatoes, and salad dressing, choices are endless.
  3. We love our stuff roasted, toasted and fried really well, so I have cooked the cheese until it is well browned…you may choose not to.

Desi Cheese Taco 4

Leave a Reply

