Homemade Peanut Butter

If you tell me you don’t love Peanut Butter, you and I just cannot be friends!!! Okay, maybe we can be friends, but, how can you not love Peanut butter? That makes me sad! Oh well, perhaps not everyone is an insane about this nutty goodness as me! πŸ˜€ What can I say, ever since Peanut Butter came to the world, life has been much better!Β Peanut Butter was introduced to India much later than its western counterparts, but has not received any less love either. And it’s such a misconception that it’s just kids who love a good PB & Jelly sandwich; I love peanut butter, slathered over toast, crackers, biscuits and even as a flavour in ice creams, oatmeal, desserts. Isn’t it just so versatile?

Not only is it bursting with flavours, but Peanut Butter is also a good food source, packed with nutrients….alas, being processed, its nutrients usually get lost by the end! So how does one, without compromising on taste, enjoy the health benefits of Peanut Butter? I’ll tell you how, you make it at home!

Peanut butter 2

I have been seeking out a good Homemade Peanut Butter recipe, and somehow, I kept pushing back and wanting to make it later. But a few recent posts on a Facebook food page, eventually made me step up and take action into my own hands.

I like my Peanut Butter chunky, with some bite to it; the crunch in the smoooooth butter gives it an edge. You can also add honey to this for sweetness, if you’re diabetic, but I added some fine granulated sugar…again, adds a lovely crunchiness to it. You may also use skinless pre-roasted peanuts, or salted skinless peanuts (in which case, skip the salt), but I usually have a packet of raw peanuts at home, so that’s what I used.

Peanut butter 4

I’ve roasted my peanuts until they were dark, and did so in the microwave. You can use the stove-top just as easily πŸ™‚

Homemade Peanut ButterΒ 

Ingredients:

  • Raw Peanuts – 400 gm
  • Salt – 1/2 tsp
  • Sugar – 2 to 3 tsp (depending on how sweet or salty you like it)
  • Peanut oil or flavourless vegetable oil – 1 tsp

Method:

  1. In a microwave-safe bowl, roast the peanuts for 7 to 8 minutes, in intervals of 1 minute each.
  2. After each minute, keep stirring the peanuts so that they’re all mixed up well.Β 
  3. After around 7 minutes, or when you smell the peanuty roasty smell and see the nuts change colour to dark brown, check and see it they come off their skin easily (be careful, it’ll be red hot). If yes, take them out, and pour them on a large plate.
  4. Let them cool, so you can touch them.
  5. Once cool, using your palms, rub them off their skins, and discard the skins.
  6. In a blender or food processor, pour the cooled, skinless peanuts.
  7. Add salt, sugar and churn…the peanuts will be dry, then coarse and slowly, they’ll release their oil.
  8. Once sticky and clumpy, add the oil and churn to a smooth finish or keep it chunky like I did.
  9. Enjoy your guiltless, homemade Peanut Butter πŸ˜€

Peanut butter 3

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks perfect!! These days I’m hooked on to almond butter πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You make it at home? Can I make it, do you think? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nope dear , store bought ! You most certainly can make it home πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Oh okay πŸ˜€ I’ll try hehe! Thanks

        Like

Leave a Reply

