Lemon-Cherry Thumbprint Cookies

A friend once told me that she wonders how I’m unafraid of experimenting with baking…..Well, not really an experiment, but I like to plunge in unbridled. If I like a recipe, I really, REALLY need to try it out, and in my mind, I WANT it to be perfect. And if it’s less-than perfect, I feel crushed. Which is silly, because nothing can be perfect on its first attempt! Right? Right? Right!

That’s just me consoling myself…while I hear my heart crush into a zillion little pieces 😦 I have no clue how many attempts and tries it will take me to become a semi-successful baker, but I know this, I won’t stop trying. Meanwhile, please enjoy these BLOBS, also known as Lemon-Cherry Thumbprint Cookies…. 😀

Lemon-Cherry Thumbprint Cookies 3

These cookies are extremely buttery, almost like shortbread, but lemony, and hence MUST BE baked on a parchment paper, and also need to go CHILLED directly into the oven. They won’t have a very great shape, rather blob-like as you see, but if you can come up with perfectly-shaped blobs, you’ll know you’ve done it.

Lemon-Cherry Thumbprint Cookies 2

Lemon-Cherry Thumbprint Cookies (this recipe has been halved, you may double it up as you wish)

Ingredients:

  • Softened butter – 1/2 cup (113 gms)
  • Powdered granulated sugar – 1/4 cup (50 gm)
  • Plain flour – 1 cup (125 gm)
  • Lemon extract – 1/2 tsp
  • Lemon zest – 1 tsp
  • Lemon juice – 1 tsp
  • Cherries – 1 for each cookie (I’ve used canned cherries with syrup)
  • Icing sugar – for dusting on top

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 190 C
  2. Cream butter, sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest and extract
  3. Add flour bit by bit and using a dough hook, or with your hands, knead slowly into a dough. It will be crumbly, don’t worry.
  4. Start bringing it together but don’t knead too much, only until it’s combined and smooth.
  5. Meanwhile, line a baking/cookie tray with parchment.. DON’T SKIP THIS STEP.
  6. Make small lime-sized balls and place them on the tray, using your thumb to make an indentation.
  7. Fill each thumbprint with cherry, and a drop of syrup.
  8. Put the tray in the FREEZER for 15 minutes, while your oven preheats.
  9. Bake at 190 C for 15 mins or until small cracks appear on the cookies.
  10. Take out and cool for 15 minutes, remove and dust with powdered sugar.
  11. You may also make a frosting or glaze to go on top.
  12. IMP: Don’t try to remove hot cookies from the tray. They WILL break, they’re extremely fragile.
  13. Dust powdered sugar on top once they’ve cooled or make a simple sugar glaze to drizzle on top.
  14. Enjoy once cooled, with a cup of tea or coffee.. 🙂 

Lemon-Cherry Thumbprint Cookies 1

Note: Don’t try to bake them for too long, as these cookies remain quite soft and white. When broken, or bit into, you can see how crumbly they are. That’s how they’re supposed to be. 🙂

Lemon-Cherry Thumbprint Cookies 4

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You are such a pro at baking! I have high regards for people who bake well !….They look amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much… 🙂 That is incredibly kind of you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

