Homemade Enchilada Sauce

I used to make do with store-bought sauces, until I decided to skip the boat-load of preservatives and chemicals that usually go into making them. Not that I don’t use store-bought sauces, I do, but only as a last resort, and usually just as a dip for snacks and such.

Enchilada Sauce 2

When I planned to make my Chicken Enchiladas this Sunday, I knew I wanted to make my own sauce, and set about finding ingredients and recipes, until I came across one that I really liked, on Gimme Some Oven. I did tweak it some to suit my tastes, but in essence, it’s pretty much the same.

Also, I’ve used fresh tomatoes for this, and added a few garlic cloves, some chopped onions, and hot green chilies to add a slight chili kick to the sauce.

Enchilada Sauce 3

Enchilada Sauce (Makes about 2 cups or about 500 ml)

Ingredients:

  • Tomatoes – 3 large, quartered
  • Garlic – 3 cloves, minced
  • Onions – 2 small, minced
  • Green chili pepper – 2
  • Cumin powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Oregano – 1/2 tsp
  • Red chili powder – 4 tbsp (reduce or increase as per heat preference)
  • All-purpose flour – 2 tbsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Sugar – 1/2 tsp
  • Vegetable/Chicken stock or water – 2 cups
  • Vegetable oil – 1 tbsp

Method:

  1. Make a paste of the tomatoes, by blanching them in hot water and removing the skin.
  2. In a pan, heat the oil, and add the minced onion and garlic.
  3. Fry until golden, and add the flour, frying on a low flame until it turns golden.
  4. Season with the spices, sugar and salt and add the tomato paste.
  5. Cook this on low for 3 to 4 mins, before slowly, adding the stock little by little.
  6. Use a whisk, stirring the sauce constantly as it simmers, to avoid lumps.
  7. Check for salt and seasonings, adjust if needed.
  8. The sauce should not be thick, but semi-runny and smooth. 
  9. When it reached desired consistency (might take 6 to 8 minutes), pour it out using a large strainer.
  10. Use the back of a spoon to squeeze the entire liquid part out, leaving behind the solid remains (which I then used for the Chicken Enchilada).
  11. Pour into an air-tight container and refrigerate, or pour into an ice cube tray and freeze; the ‘cubes’ can later be thawed and used for other dishes 🙂 

Enchilada Sauce 4

**Note: Different brands of chili powder will give different heat levels and colours; some brands are less spicy but give a deeper red colour, while others are more spicy and give a more brown shade to the sauce. Either way, it will taste good 🙂

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

