Chicken Enchilada

Like many people, I love Mexican fare, except the fact is that I am extremely sensitive to spicy (hot) food, and things can get out of hand quickly at a Mexican food joint, easily. Which makes me avoid Mexican food outside, unless I can specifically ask them to keep it less spicy. Mexican food is so close to Indian food in many ways; their use of chilies, bold, deep flavours, vibrant colours… I find Mexican food so warm and rustic, like Italian, it just calls out to me! Of course, I would probably do best by avoiding that dash of jalapeno in my food, but, some times, you need to make an exception. Like these Enchiladas….my Sunday specials 😉

Making these Enchiladas was a fun experience, and the best part was that they’re so easy to make. You don’t need a host of ingredients, or have to slog over the stove (especially in this heat). I made the tortillas from scratch, though I’ve used whole wheat flour here, and I made my own Enchilada sauce as well; something I read online, where the lady was raving about making her own sauce. It’s quite uncomplicated really, and the whole process barely took 3 hours, from prep to serving.

Chicken Enchilada 1

I’m really glad I decided to make my own Enchilada Sauce! The flavours were amazing, and I actually saved a batch for later use. As for the Tortillas, you may easily opt for store-bought corn or flour tortillas, but I wanted to make everything from scratch since I was already going the long route with the sauce. I have to thank Mom for the tortillas, because I suck at rolling, so she helped… 🙂 We were supposed to have these for dinner, but Dad insisted we polish it off at lunch itself 😀 and so we did 😉

I am unsure whether Mexicans use cilantro 😛 but I liked the dash of colour it gave, and frankly, I love cilantro and try to add it almost everything 😛 except desserts 😀

Try this with my Homemade Enchilada Sauce, and I promise you, you’ll love it as much as I did…’tis a keeper for sure 🙂

Chicken Enchilada 2

Chicken Enchiladas (Makes 15, 6 inch tortillas)

Ingredients: 

  • Boneless Chicken – 400 gms, diced into bite-sized pieces (see note if using pre-cooked chicken)
  • Onion – 2 medium, minced or chopped fine.
  • Garlic – 6 to 7 cloves, minced
  • Enchilada sauce – 1 can (if using store-bought) or 1 batch, about 15 oz 
  • Chili powder – 4 tbsp (edit to suit heat preference)
  • Cumin powder – 2 tsp
  • Salt – to taste
  • Black pepper powder – 2 tsp
  • Green chilies – 3 to 4, minced
  • Cheddar Cheese – 1 cup
  • Processed Cheese – 1 cup OR use mixed Mexican cheese, 2 to 3 cups
  • Cilantro – 1/2 cup, chopped fine
  • Flour tortillas – 15, 6 inches
  • Vegetable/Canola oil – 2 tbsp

Method: 

  1. In a large pan, heat the oil, and add the chopped onion and garlic, frying gently until translucent. 
  2. Add the diced chicken, green chilies and dry spices. 
  3. Fry the chicken until they begin to turn opaque, and add 2 spoons of the Enchilada sauce (I used the strained onion, garlic mixture from the Enchilada sauce I made).
  4. Add some of the chopped cilantro, black pepper powder, and give it a stir.
  5. Now cover, cook for 5 to 6 minutes, and turn off the heat (the chicken will overcook easily, so keep a watchful eye).
  6. Keep aside to cool, and begin to prepare the enchiladas.
  7. Preheat oven to 350 F or 180 C.
  8. Lay each tortilla on a plate, and slather with a generous dollop of enchilada sauce. 
  9. Spread the chicken mixture in a line down the center, and sprinkle some of the cheese, and roll it up. Do the same for the rest of the enchiladas.
  10. Place each tortilla snugly, against one another in a line, in a 9 x 13 inch baking dish that you have previously greased well. 
  11. Spread Enchilada sauce on top of the tortillas, and sprinkle with remaining cheese.
  12. Bake for 20 minutes, or until cheese has melted, and sprinkle remaining cilantro on top right before serving.
  13. Serve with sour cream or salsa… 🙂 

**Note: If using boiled or pre-cooked chicken, fry the onion, garlic, chili mixture, and then toss with the chicken and sauce.

Chicken Enchilada 4

3 Comments Add yours

  1. These enchiladas look awesome, Trisha! Even more awesome with all the sides, sour cream, salsa and guac 😀 I like making things from scratch too, but The tortillas I buy ready made 😀 Great job on making everything from scratch 🙂
    Love Mexican cuisine too, yes they do use cilantro 🙂 And their chilli powder is a little different from ours 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eeeep!! Freda, look at this!! I’m replying to you a YEAR later 😮 Good Lord. I’m so sorry!!! Thanks so much for your lovely comment as always Freda! ❤ apologies for the late response!
      xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

