Eggless Banana Cake

For the past few days, the heat has kept me out of the kitchen, and even though I help Mom with daily cooking, I don’t really feel like making anything labour-intensive. At the same time, the itch to cook or bake something has been gnawing constantly at me, and very grudgingly, I sifted through my recipe database, until I came across this simple, one-bowl, vegan and eggless Banana Cake, made with whole wheat flour.

Banana Cake 2

Not only is this a great way to use up those over-ripe bananas lying around in your kitchen, but it’s also a healthy recipe, heavenly to taste, moist, and hardly takes an hour from start to finish to make. Also, since this is eggless, it’s safe for vegetarians, and vegans alike, thanks to being made from Whole Wheat flour. You can also substitute the sugar with cane sugar or jaggery.

Banana Cake 1

I suppose I could do with a little less oil, and also, I didn’t wait for the cake to cool down, so it crumbled a bit 😛 but who can wait to dig into a sweetly fragrant, piping hot Banana Cake? Not me 😉

Eggless Banana Cake

Ingredients:

  • Whole wheat flour – 1 & 1/2 cups or 180 gms 
  • Bananas – 2 large or 3 medium, about 300 gms total
  • Granulated sugar or unrefined cane sugar or organic brown sugar – 1/2 cup or 100 to 110 gms (I used 100 gm powdered sugar and 20 gms demerara sugar)
  • Oil – 2/3 cup or 158 ml (I used sunflower oil)
  • Salt – a pinch
  • Baking powder – 1 tsp
  • Baking soda – 1/2 tsp
  • Vanilla extract – 1 tsp
  • Walnuts – 10 to 12, chopped
  • Nutmeg or cinnamon – 1/2 tsp (optional)

Process:

  1. Preheat your oven at 180 C/350 F.
  2. Peel and mash the bananas with a fork in a large bowl (the riper the bananas, the better).
  3. Once banana mash is smooth, add the sugar and oil and use a wire whisk to mix the oil with the banana puree and until sugar is dissolved.
  4. Sieve the flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder directly into the banana mash.
  5. Add the spices, if you like a lightly spice-flavoured cake (I skipped it)
  6. Fold the dry ingredients into the wet, using a spatula; mix until ingredients are combined, but don’t over mix. The batter should be light and fluffy.
  7. Add the chopped walnuts and give a final mix.
  8. Pour into prepared cake pan; either a loaf tin or an equivalent sized round or Bundt pan.
  9. Bake for 40 minutes or until tester comes out clean. (I baked it for 30 minutes and an extra 12 minutes at 160 C)

Banana Cake 4

You can serve the cake hot with some fresh cream, vanilla ice cream, or a dollop of whipping cream, and even with chocolate sauce. I love it plain with a cup of milk tea, or coffee! 🙂 

Banana Cake 6

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you Freda!!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

