Cheesy Egg Baskets

Eggs are so versatile! You can make anything with them, and even add them to almost every food group, be it savoury or sweet. I love eggs in all forms, and if you ask me what my favourite is, I will invariably be extremely confused. I do however, love having something heavier on weekends, rather than a simple boiled, poached or fried egg. I was planning to make some slow-baked eggs for my Saturday breakfast, but unfortunately, I slept badly last night and woke up really late today.

Naturally, I was upset and sat down with my tea, wracking my brains for ideas. And it came to me suddenly…why not make some quick microwave eggs? I quickly diced some veggies, grated some cheese and brought out my eggs and milk…and viola!

IMG_2454_1459577207892

These eggs are soft, moist, delicious and were done in 2 minutes flat! Is there anything simpler?

I don’t like onions in my eggs usually, unless it’s an omelet curry or such, so I skipped those, and used some finely chopped garlic, tomatoes, capsicum and sweet corn. You can add, skip or change the fillings; mushrooms, even bacon, or ham, shredded chicken and even cottage cheese can be a fun combo for these eggs!

IMG_2452_1459577261025

Cheesy Egg Baskets

Ingredients:

  • Eggs – 4
  • Milk – 2 tbsp for each egg, or about 1 cup
  • Garlic cloves – 2 to 3 small ones for each egg, diced fine or minced or crushed (You can use garlic powder too)
  • Tomatoes – 2 medium, diced fine (a tbsp for each egg)
  • Capsicum/Green bell pepper – 1/2, chopped fine
  • Onion – 1 large, minced (I skipped)
  • Cheddar cheese or any other cheese of choice – 1 tbsp grated for each egg.
  • Butter – for greasing ramekins
  • Salt – to taste
  • Coarsely ground black pepper – to taste 
  • OR
  • Oregano/Basil or mixed herbs – a pinch for each egg

Equipment: Ceramic/Microwave safe ramekins, basting brush, baking tray, glass of water

Process:

  1. Grease each ramekin well with butter.
  2. Beat the eggs with the milk until fluffy and pour each egg into individual ramekins.
  3. Sprinkle the condiments and vegetables on the beaten egg in the ramekins.
  4. Add 1/2 the amount of cheese, season with salt and pepper or spices.
  5. Place the ramekins on a baking tray, or directly on the microwave turntable, and place a glass of water next to them. (The water will help to keep the eggs moist and soft)
  6. Microwave on high for 1 minute, then take them out on to a microwave safe plate.
  7. Now, garnish with the eggs with remaining cheese on top, and microwave the eggs again for 1 more minute, or until cheese melts. 
  8. Gently pick up each egg with a spoon or knife and place on serving platter.
  9. Serve hot, and enjoy biting into soft and succulent baked eggs

🙂

IMG_2457_1459577161948

Leave a Reply

