Layered Chocolate Mousse Cake

I want to start this post by declaring how much I loathe Calcutta summers. I’ve lived 25 years in Mumbai, where it is hot and humid and makes life hell. But I tell you, nothing comes close to this sticky, muggy and absolutely exhausting summer heat of Calcutta (now Kolkata). And while it makes life difficult, I wouldn’t crib…until the day I decided to make a Chocolate Mousse Cake.

First let me tell you, that the beautiful layered mousse cake that I had foreseen in my mind (and in Martha Stewart’s blog), was just that; a dream. There is no way in he** that I could make this cake successfully…and even if I did, by the time I brought it out from the freezer to photograph, it would melt into multiple coloured puddles. No matter whether you set your mousse with gelatin, or without, the cake would never stand up to the heat.

So, with a heavy heart, I decided to make the same thing, but in a glass. At least it wouldn’t melt on me! And even then,in spite of me nearly standing inside the fridge for nearly 4 hours, my white chocolate mousse wasn’t as firm as I’d hoped, and my hopes of a clean finish and neat decoration were shattered. Nevertheless, it was absolutely delicious, as proclaimed by my parents, and that is what makes me happy. I managed to make two large glasses and one smaller one for myself..

Don’t go by their sizes, the one on the right is 1/4th of the glass on the left :/

I had made two individual Chocolate Cakes, and used one of these to make the base for these. I made three different chocolate mousses; dark chocolate, semi-sweet or milk chocolate, and white chocolate. And then, I layered them inside the glass 🙂

Triple/Quadruple Layered Chocolate Mousse Cake

Ingredients:

Chocolate Cake – 1 (recipe here) cut into roundels, measuring the width of your glass.

Dark Chocolate Mousse:

  • Dark chocolate – 200 gms
  • Whipping cream – 1 cup

Milk Chocolate Mousse: 

  • Milk chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate – 200 gms
  • Whipping cream – 1 cup

White Chocolate Mousse:

  • White chocolate – 200 gms
  • Whipping cream – 1 cup

Process:

  1. For each chocolate mousse, melt the chocolates in separate bowls that are either microwave safe, or heat resistant. 
  2. For the microwave method, take each variety of chocolate in individual bowls, and microwave at high powder for a minute or two, in 30 second intervals, using a small whisk, spoon or fork to stir the chocolate well. 
  3. Once chocolate is shiny and smooth, keep it aside to cool to room temperature. 
  4. For the double boiler method, place a pan of water, and the bowl with chocolate on top, ensuring that the base of the bowl is at least a few cm above the water. Bring water to boil, whisking the chocolate until it’s completely melted.
  5. Once each chocolate has melted, using a hand whisk or preferably an electric whisk, slowly begin to whisk in the chilled whipping cream. 
  6. You may add sugar, but I didn’t feel the need to. 
  7. Once the cream and chocolate have begun to mix, increase speed of whisk until the mousse is nice and airy and has doubled in volume. 
  8. Cover each chocolate mousse bowl with a cling film and refrigerate for 4 to 6 hours or at least 2 hours.
  9. Measure the width of your glass, and using a cookie cutter of the same shape, cut out rounds of your chocolate cake.
  10. Ensure that your cake is chilled before you cut, to avoid breakage.
  11. Push the cake down into each glass gently with the back of a spoon. 
  12. Fill three piping bags with each chocolate mousse, and fill the bottom layer first, starting with white chocolate mousse. Put the glass into the freezer for mousse to set again, for 30 mins, and follow the same directions for milk chocolate mousse and finally dark chocolate mousse.
  13. You may add thinner cake layers in between each mousse layer for height, I did. 
  14. Decorate the top with cake crumbs, sprinkles or choice of garnish. 

IMG_2335_1459269841115

IMG_2342_1459269928275

Note: Work in an Air-conditioned room if you live in a hot region. I worked in one, chilled to the bone, and yet, my mousse was melting, each extra minute I kept it out of the fridge. And this is how it looked, when we dug into it 🙂

As you can see, the mousse layers were nice and light, fluffy and soft, melt-in-your mouth kinds, so all-in-all, a happy me 😀

IMG_2327_1459269410262

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love making this egg less mousse too!! Your mousse trifle looks very inviting , Trisha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Freda!! My parents won’t eat a traditional egg-yolk mousse, so have to do it this way.. not that I mind 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually do, the idea of raw eggs ….naaaa

        Like

Leave a Reply

