Rava Uttapam (Semolina Pancakes)

Growing up as a Bong in a multi-cultural Mumbai township meant I was exposed to different kinds of cuisine since childhood, one of them being Udupi cuisine. I am told, my first Udupi outing was when I was 6 months old, at a small outlet in Vashi, New Bombay, called Navaratna. (I hear the restaurant is now a chain!) My parents relished their dosas, wadas and thalis, while the owner Mr. Shetty kept a watchful eye on me (while I babbled in my perambulator)

And then, I spent a few of my formative years in SIES College (South Indian Education Society), so, yup, you get the picture. Canteen food consisted of regular happenings of Idli, Upma, Uttapam, Sheera, Sambar-Wada, aaaah, memories! So, now, miles away here in Cal, I still seek out my love for Southie food. Not surprisingly, I tried making Uttapams. Though these are made from rice flour usually, I’m on a no-rice eating spree, and made these with Rava or Sooji/Semolina.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • Rava/Sooji/Semolina/Cream of wheat – 2 cups/250 gms
  • Curd (or buttermilk) – 1/2 cup (buttermilk 1 cup)
  • Water – as needed, batter must be thick like pancake.
  • Onions – 1 large, sliced finely.
  • Tomatoes – 1, chopped fine
  • Capsicum – 1, chopped fine
  • Coriander – 1 cup, chopped fine
  • Chilies – 3 or 4, I skipped them
  • Salt to taste
  • Bicarbonate of soda – 1/2 tsp OR Eno fruit salt – 1 tsp
  • Homemade ghee – a few drops for each uttapam

Process:

  1. Mix the curd with the semolina, add salt, and water to make a fine batter.
  2. Keep aside, covered for 30 minutes.
  3. Chop and slice the veggies in the meantime and ready them.
  4. Now, add the soda into the batter, that will have become nice and soft by now.
  5. You will see bubbles…good. stir, and add chopped coriander.
  6. Heat a non-stick tawa…add a drop or two of ghee, spread.
  7. Using a ladle, use 1 large or 2 small scoops and with the back of the ladle, spread it on the pan..don’t make it thin.
  8. Now, sprinkle the veggies on top, and using the back of a spatula, press them into the uttapam nicely.
  9. Cook on a low flame for 3 minutes, and then, carefully, flip the uttapam.
  10. Give the other side a couple of minutes too..sprinkle some ghee if needed.
  11. Turn again, and if satisfactory, take out on a plate and serve hot.

I also made a few plain ones, and the next day, I made some with shredded carrots as well..here are the pics!

11059527_10154616275446040_4635374572011678798_n12801104_10154621235056040_2822277759769983771_n

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thehungryballer says:

    This is simply yummmmm !
    Thanks a ton for sharing the recipe !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, thanks a lot for appreciating! Glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

