Suji’r Payesh (Warm Semolina Pudding)

Well hello there! Food is my passion; not just eating it, but cooking it too. With a busy home and work life, I find it difficult to sit down and jot recipes in an orderly fashion. But after a lot of pushing and prodding from friends and family, here I am with some home-cooked delicacies. I’m someone who doesn’t believe in wandering around the kitchen aimlessly, so most of my recipes are ones that can be completed without too much fuss.

My first post here is an easy-peasy, fuss-free dessert. As a Bengali, sweets are an integral part of my life. Not only do I have an incessant, undying love for sweets, but I also love making them. Now, after Grandma and Mom, it’s me who’s taken the reigns of the kitchen business… This is one of my favourite desserts, one that my ‘Didu’ (Maternal Grandma) was a pro at making.

Suji’r Payesh (Warm Semolina Pudding/Kheer)

You will need:

  • Semolina – 3 tbsp
  • Milk – 300 ml (preferably full fat)
  • Sugar or Jaggery – 3 tbsp
  • Nuts – A handful for garnish
  • Ghee – 2 tsp

Process:

  • In a thick bottomed pan, add the ghee, let it heat up.
  • Lower the heat and add the semolina.
  • Roast it well until it gives off a nutty aroma, but take care to see it doesn’t burn or turn brown.
  • In a separate pan, pour in the milk and let it simmer gently.
  • Add the sugar and mix well.
  • Once the semolina is nice and toasty, and the milk has come to a boil, add it into the milk.
  • Add raisins or nuts if you please, and for about 5 to 7 minutes, cook the payesh until its creamy but not too thick.
  • Serve this immediately as it’s best eaten hot.

11051763_10154362160306040_199735186400062201_o.jpg

Noteย ย – During winters in Bengal, we prefer to prepare this with date palm jaggery (Nolen Gur/Khejur Gur)..the taste is even better. Just remember to add the jaggery once the milk is boiled and semolina is added as the milk has a tendency to curdle otherwise.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. JollyHomemadeRecipes says:

    Congrats dear Trisha for your first blog post..suji payesh looks so yumm !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Jolly!!!

      Like

  2. Kenji says:

    Who needs appetizers when you have Trisha’s food blog and photography?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww, thanks a lot Kenji.. I’m overwhelmed..

      Like

  3. mousumi Biswas says:

    Congrats Trisha
    Thanks for your easy n yummy rec of payesh

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reshme says:

    Wonderful recipe Way to go Trisha!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Reshme!

      Like

  5. Shyla says:

    Looks delish Trisha!! I’m so gonna try that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankieeee Shy, am glad you liked it. Do try!

      Like

  6. Manish Batish says:

    Looks so yumm ! Congrats dear ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Manish Batish says:

    looks so yumm…Congrats dear ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot Manish.. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. Sujir Payesh is the best I like from the 100 different types of Payesh. Your blog made me nostalgic and reminded me of the days of my childhood, when I used to cherish every bit of it. It reminded me of the days when I had my mother around me… Stay tuned Trisha.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sujir Payesh is the best I like among 100 different types of Payesh. Your post made me nostalgic and reminded me of my days of childhood, when I used to cherish every bit of it. You also reminded me that I had my mother around me…Stay tuned Trisha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you liked it Chandan da!!! If I can, I will make some for you one day… thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

